Cabinet approved three corridors of phase -IV of Delhi Metro

New Delhi: The Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday approved three of the six corridors proposed under Phase-IV of the Delhi Metro.

The three corridors comprise of Aerocity to Tughlakabad (15 stations) , R. K Ashram to Janakpuri West (25 stations) and Maujpur – Mukundpur (6 Stations) . The 3 corridors consist of both underground (22.359 km) and elevated (39.320 km) sections.

The project comprises of 3 priority corridors, with the total length of these 3 corridors being 61.679 km. Out of the total 61.679 km, 22.359 km will be built underground and 39.320 km will be constructed as an elevated section.

“These corridors will consist of 46 stations, of which 17 stations will be underground and the rest 29 stations will be constructed as elevated sections,” said the government in a statement.

While the total completion cost of three metro corridors will be Rs.24,948.65 crore. The project will be implemented by Delhi Metro Rail Corporation Ltd. (DMRC), the existing 50:50 Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV) of the central government and Delhi government.