Bumrah bowls India to ODI series win in Kanpur

Kanpur (Uttar Pradesh): Skipper Virat Kohli and opener Rohit Sharma struck scorching centuries before Jasprit Bumrah scalped a three-wicket haul as India beat New Zealand by six runs in the third One-Day International (ODI) to clinch the three-match series here at the Green Park stadium on Sunday.

Chasing a mammoth total of 338, New Zealand started off well but lost couple of wickets in between to end their innings at 331 for 7, thanks to some tight and tidy spells from Bumrah and Chahal.

New Zealand was always in the run chase helped by impressive half-centuries from Munro (75), Williamson (64) and Latham (65), as well as contributions from Taylor (39) and Nicholls (37).

India’s bowling wasn’t as good as it could have been but when it mattered most in the final few overs the bowlers kept their nerve to secure a fine ODI series win for India!

Earlier, brilliant centuries from opener Rohit Sharma and skipper Virat Kohli helped India set a huge target of 338 for the Black Caps.

Put into bat, India did not start well as left-handed opener Shikhar Dhawan (14) was sent back to pavilion in the seventh over.

However, Rohit and Kohli put on a mammoth 230-run stand for the second wicket, to put India in a commanding position.

Rohit (147) scored his 15th ODI hundred on the occasion while Kohli (113) notched up his 32nd ton.

Captain Kohli also became the fastest to reach 9000 ODI runs, taking just 194 innings to achieve the feat.

He also became the first batsman to amass 2000 runs in international cricket in 2017.

MS Dhoni’s 25 from 17 balls and Kedar Jadhav’s 18 from 10 deliveries gave India the extra momentum in the death overs to pose a record for the highest team score in Kanpur.

All-rounder Hardik Pandya was not able to add much to India’s score as he went down cheaply by scoring just 8 runs where as Dinesh Karthik remained not out on 4.

Tim Southee, Adam Milne and Mitchell Santner took 2 wickets each to restrict India for 337 at the end of 50 overs.

Rohit was awarded the Man of the Match for his brilliant ton, while Kohli was declared Man of the Series. (ANI)