BSP announces alliance with Jana Sena in Andhra Pradesh, Telangana

Lucknow: The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) on Friday announced its decision to ally with Pawan Kalyan’s Jana Sena Party (JSP) for contesting the Lok Sabha and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh and Lok Sabha elections in Telangana.

“Parliamentary and state Assembly elections are due in Andhra Pradesh. People of Andhra Pradesh want to change, they want new people to come (to power). BSP with Pawan Kalyan led Jana Sena Party and some communist parties will contest the elections in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana,” BSP chief Mayawati told media here.

Furthermore, Mayawati said, “seat-sharing” has been finalized and there is “no dispute” regarding the seat distribution for either of the elections.

“I want Pawan Kalyan to become Andhra Pradesh, Chief Minister. There is no dispute on seat sharing in Parliamentary or state Assembly elections,” said Mayawati.

The BSP Chief announced her upcoming visit to Andhra Pradesh and Telangana on 3 and 4 April, respectively, for addressing election rallies.

Mayawati also said that BSP is striving to ally with all those regional players who are associated with neither BJP nor the Congress.

Meanwhile, Jana Sena Chief Pawan Kalyan batted for Mayawati to become the Prime Minister. “This is our wish and our ardent desire,” he said.

Andhra Pradesh will go for simultaneous elections to the state Assembly and Parliament on April 11.