Brexit: Parliament rejects No-Confidence against Theresa May

London: The British government on Tuesday rejected the no-confidence motion tabled by the Leader of Opposition Jeremy Corbyn against Prime Minister Theresa May.

The motion was passed in the British Parliament on Monday after May pushed back the date of the parliamentary vote on the Brexit Withdrawal Agreement to the week of January 14, reported CNN.

Speaking at the House of Commons, where the parliamentarians were set to vote on the Brexit agreement on December 11, May defended her decision saying that she would lose the vote “by a significant margin” and would now hold talks with the EU leaders to discuss the matter.

Reacting to this, Corbyn tweeted: “It is unacceptable for the country to wait another month before Parliament has the chance to vote on Theresa May’s botched deal. Therefore, I have tabled a motion of no confidence in the PM this evening, so Parliament can take back control”.

In the House of Commons, Corbyn asserted that the motion was based on the Prime Minister’s “failure to allow the House of Commons to have a meaningful vote straight away on the Withdrawal Agreement and framework for future relationships between the UK and European Union.”

The motion was directed towards May rather than the whole government. The motion, therefore, would not have forced the administration to step down even if it were to be approved by the Parliament.

The Labour Party ahead of the move had expressed that the government must take time to debate the motion, adding that “if they don’t it’s clear they believe she does not retain the confidence of the House of Commons.”