Breaking: All 8 Muslim accused in Malegaon blasts discharged

Mumbai: The Special MCOCA Court on Monday discharged all Muslim youths accused in the 2006 Malegaon blast case due to lack of evidence.

The order was passed by bench of justice VV Patil.

Advocate Shaid Nadeem Ansari while talking to said, “The court gave its verdict Monday on the discharge application filed by the Muslim men accused of the September 2006 Malegaon blasts.”

The nine Muslims – Noorul Huda, Shabbir Ahmed, Salman Farsi, Farogh Magdumi, Raees Ahmed, Asif Khan, Shaikh Mohammed Ali, Mohammed Zahid and Abrar Ahmed – were detained in 2006 for the Malegaon blasts that killed 37 and injured more than 100. They were granted bail in November 2011.

On Friday advocate Sanjiv Punalekar, the lawyer representing the Hindu accused in the 2008 Malegaon blasts case said that the Muslim men detained in the 2006 Malegaon blasts case were innocent and they were wrongly implicated by the ATS in the case.

“Sadhvi Pragaya Singh Thakur, Col. Purohit and Chaturvedi, all of them were tortured. And, the set of officers who tortured them, whether it was Rajan Ghule or Arun Khanvilkar or Sachin Kadam, were the same officers who had tortured Santosh Bagade, and the same people are coming in the 2006 blast.

“So, I have no hesitation in saying that in the 2006 Malegaon case, those nine Muslims were innocent and were implicated”, he said while talking to news agency ANI.