BJP’s trinity in Gujarat: PM Modi shares stage with Keshubhai Patel, Vaghela after 20 years

Gandhinagar: BJP leader, Vijay Rupani on Tuesday was swearing-in as the Chief Minister of Gujarat at the Gandhinagar Sachivalaya Ground. He is the 16th CM of the State. The first government of BJP in the State was formed 22 years back.

The swearing-in ceremony brought together three former CMs of the State, Mr. Narendra Modi, Mr. Keshubhai Patel and Mr. Shankersinh Vaghela who played a vital role in spreading the BJP’s deep roots in the state.

According to the report published in Deccan Herald, in 1995, the trinity projected Keshubhai Patel as leader of the party in the State. He formed his government in the month of March 1995. However, after seven month due to the tussle between Vaghela and Modi, the government was brought down. After this incident, they were never seen together on the public platform.

Vaghela was the CM of the State from 1996 to 1998 after forming a regional party which was later merged with Congress. He was appointed as Union Textiles Minister.

In 1998, Keshubhai Patel once again became the CM of the State. However, in October 2001, Modi dislodged him.

Talking to media persons, Mr. Vaghela said that Chief Minister Vijay Rupani called him personally. He smiles when asked what PM whispered in his ears, Deccan Herald reported.

It may be mentioned that in 2014 also when Mr. Modi was felicitated in Gujarat Assembly, he had whispered something in the ears of Mr. Vaghela.

Meanwhile, along with Mr. Rupani, nineteen other ministers, including Rupani’s deputy Nitin Patel, also took oath in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah. The chief ministers of other BJP ruled states were also present on this occasion.