BJP wins all 5 municipal corporations in Jharkhand

Ranchi: The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Jharkhand won all the five municipal corporations and registered thumping victories in Nagar Parishad and Nagar Panchayat polls, officials said.

The counting of votes took place on Friday. The polling had taken place on April 16. The BJP also retained the Ranchi Mayor and Deputy Mayor post.

The BJP won all the five municipal corporations, Mayor and Deputy Mayor posts. The polling took place for the five municipal corporations of Ranchi, Medninagar, Adityapur, Hazaribagh and Giridih.

Reacting to the victory, Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das said: “It’s a victory of the BJP workers. This is a victory of development. We congratulate people of the state for the victory.”

Asha Lakra, the BJP’s mayoral candidate in Ranchi, secured 1,49,623 votes and defeated Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) candidate Varsha Gari by more than 39,000 votes. BJP’s Deputy Mayor candidate Sanjiv Vijaybargia defeated Congress candidate Rajesh Gupta.

The BJP also performed well in the Nagar Parishad and Nagar Panchayat polls.

The party won seven president and five vice president post in 16 Nagar Parishads.

The JMM and Congress managed to win four and two president posts respectively, and two and three of vice president posts, respectively.

In Nagar Panchayat, the BJP won nine president and five vice president posts of the total of 14 Nagar Panchayats.