BJP receives jolt in Karnataka: Congress-JD(S) combine sweeps bypolls

Bangalore: Congress-JD(S) coalition on Tuesday swept Karnataka bypolls. They won two out of three Lok Sabha seats and two assembly constituencies. BJP managed to grab only Shivamogga Lok Sabha seat. The victory of the Congress-JD(S) coalition with huge margins gave a big blow to BJP.

In Ballari, Congress nominee VS Ugrappa defeated J Shantha of BJP by a huge margin of 2.2 lakh, which was held by BJP since 2004. Congress candidate Anand Nyamagouda won the Jamakhandi assembly segment with thumping victory. JD(S) candidates Anita Kumaraswamy and LR Shivaramegouda posted huge victories and Ramanagara assembly and Mandya Lok Sabha seats respectively.