BJP ready for election, forming Govt. in U’khand: Vijayvargiya

New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Kailash Vijayvargiya on Saturday expressed his confidence saying that the party is ready for elections and forming government in Uttarakhand while stating that Uttarakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat has no majority in the state now.

“35 MLAs have come to Delhi who will meet BJP Pres today. Also, they will go to the President if need arises. We have told the Governor that we have the majority and asked him to allow us to form the government there. The Governor said that he would ask for a report from the government and consider the matter. We are ready for election and forming government. We will wait for the Governor’s reply,” Vijayvargiya told ANI.

He also alleged that the government in Uttarakhand has fallen due to Congress’ internal rift.

“I believe Harish Rawat ji has no majority in Uttarakhand. He has no right to be in power now. We have requested the Governor to dismiss the minority government,” he added.

Further training his guns on Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal for terming the BJP as ‘power hungry’ and alleging it of involving in ‘brazen horse trading’ in Uttarakhand, Vijayvargiya said that there was no need for Arvind Kejriwal’s ‘proof’ letter.

“We have started our journey from Bharatiya Jana Sangh and it’s been only one-two years that the Arvind Kejriwal Government has been formed. He and his party are in an immature stage, so these kinds of statements do not affect the Bharatiya Janata Party,” he said.

Earlier, the BJP said that it would stake claim for the formation of a government in the state as Chief Minister Harish Rawat-led government was in minority.

After urging Uttarakhand Governor K.K. Paul to dismiss the incumbent Harish Rawat-led Congress Government, Twenty six BJP MLAs, along with nine rebel Congress MLAs reached Delhi last night.

In the 70-member Uttarakhand Assembly, the ruling Congress has 36 MLAs, while it has the support of three Independents, two Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and one Uttarakhand Kranti Dal MLAs. (ANI)