BJP begins indefinite hunger strike against AAP stir

New Delhi: The Delhi unit leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday began an indefinite fast against the sit-in protest by Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and his cabinet colleagues at the Lieutenant Governor’s residence.

“West Delhi BJP MP Pravesh Singh Saheb Verma, Leader of Opposition Vijender Gupta, MLA Manjinder Singh Sirsa, and I have decided to start indefinite hunger strike from today (Friday),” suspended Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MLA Kapil Mishra told IANS.

He said the BJP MPs and the legislators have sat on hunger strike in the Delhi Secretariat since morning over the acute water shortage in several areas of the national capital.

Mishra also said they have written a letter to President Ram Nath Kovind, urging him to intervene and direct Kejriwal over the constitutional crisis.

The BJP leaders are also sitting on protest at Delhi Secretariat against the sit-in protest by Kejriwal and his Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia, Health Minister Satyendar Jain and Labour Minister Gopal Rai. The BJP leaders sat on protest on Wednesday.

The sit-in protest at Lt. Governor Anil Baijal’s office by Kejriwal, and his cabinet colleagues entered the fifth day on Friday, while the hunger strike by Health Minister Satyendar Jain entered day three and that by Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia entered day two.