BJP announces 160 candidates for Delhi civic polls

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Delhi unit on Sunday released its first list of 160 candidates for the upcoming civil polls.

The BJP declared 58 candidates for the South Delhi Municipal Corporation, 67 candidates for the North Delhi Municipal Corporation and 35 candidates for the East Delhi Municipal Corporation.

Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari had earlier announced that the party would not give tickets to any sitting councillors, apparently in a bid to beat anti-incumbency.

The election for 272 seats of the three civic bodies is scheduled for April 23 and the results declared on April 26.