Bhopal Lok Sabha Constituency: Four lakh Muslims out of 19 lakh voters

Bhopal: In Bhopal Parliamentary Constituency, after declaring the candidature of Pragya Singh Thakur, the election seems to be contested on ‘Hindutva’ ideology.

It may be mentioned that Congress had already announced the candidature of former CM of MP, Mr. Digvijay Singh. Mr. Singh has been campaigning in the constituency for the past 25 days. He is taking cautious steps. This is the reason that he has not released any controversial statement so far.

BJP announced the candidature of Ms. Sadhavi on Wednesday. She is an accused in Malegaon Bomb Blast Case.

It seems that BJP wants to communicate the message of ‘Hindutva’ throughout the country by fielding Ms. Sadhavi. The party is propagating that Mr. Singh is the supporter of weaker sections and Congress is anti-Hindu. After the announcement of the candidature of Ms. Sadhavi, the intentions of BJP have become clear.

If we analyze the historical background of Bhopal Constituency, it will be known that after 1984, BJP has been ruling this area. Bhopal faced 16 elections so far. In these elections, Congress won six times.

Bhopal is going to poll on 12th May. It has 19.5 lakh voters. Out of these, 4 lakh are Muslims, 3.5 lakh Brahmins, 4.5 lakh depressed classes, two lakh kayastha and 1.25 lakh kshatriyas. Keeping these figures in mind, Congress floated Mr. Singh but by floating Ms. Sadhavi, BJP is playing religious card.

Bhopal Parliamentary Constituency has eight Assembly seats. In the recently held elections, BJP got five seats whereas Congress was successful in three constituencies.