Bengal: Congress names nominees for Assembly bypolls

Kolkata: The Congress on Tuesday announced the names of its candidates for the bypolls in two Assembly constituencies in West Bengal scheduled to be held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha polls in the state.

“Bijoy Biswas has been chosen as the party candidate for Nadia’s Krishnagunj seat and Sk. Alam Deiyan will contest from the Uluberia East Assembly constituency in Bengal’s Howrah district,” a release issued by the party said.

The names of the two candidates have been approved by party President Rahul Gandhi, it added.

The Krishnagunj seat fell vacant after sitting Trinamool Congress MLA Satyajit Biswas was shot dead by unidentified miscreants outside a Saraswati Puja pandal last month, while the Uluberia East constituency became vacant as veteran Trinamool MLA Haider Aziz Safwi passed away in December last year.

Bypolls to Krishnagunj and Uluberia East seats will be held on April 29 and May 6, respectively.