Ballot polls in Nizamabad : CEO ; 443 in 17 segments, 185 in NZB

Hyderabad: CEO Rajat Kumar today said that Election Commission has taken a decision to conduct ballot polls in Nizamabad as it witnesses huge number of candidates contesting the polls. Rajat Kumar said that 185 candidates including 178 turmeric and red jowar farmers are contesting the polls and the EC decided for ballot polls. The CEO said that election commission is making necessary arrangements for smooth polls in all 17 segments seeing 443 candidates.

While Nizamabad LS polls has 185 candidates, Medak sees 10 faces and the EC has decided to hold ballot polls in Nizamabad he informed. TRS MP Kavitha is to take on the Madhu Yashki Goud of the Congress and D Arvind of the BJP and the farmers.

A release from the EC gives details of segments and candidates – Adilabad (ST) 11, Peddapalli (SC) 17, Karimnagar 15, Nizamabad 185, Zahirabad 12, Medak 10, Malkajgiri 12, Secunderabad 28, Hyderabad 15, Chevella 23, Mahbubnagar 12, Nagar Kurnool (SC) 11, Nalgonda 27, Bhongir 13, Warangal (SC) 15, Mahabubabad (ST) 14 and Khammam 23.

After withdrawals followed by scrutiny the EC put it that Nizamabad segment sees 185 candidates including a majority of 178 farmers of red jowar and turmeric.