Azharuddin to contest from Hyderabad LS seat: Congress

Former captain of Indian Cricket Team Mohammed Azharuddin and  retired IAS officer M. Gopala Krishna were conferred with Sadbhavana Awards on the occasion of  27th Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Yatra Commemoration Day held at historic Charminar on Thursday.

Addressing the meeting, TPCC President Capt. N. Uttam Kumar Reddy, CLP leader K. Jana Reddy, Leader of Opposition in Council Mohammed Ali Shabbir and ex-MP V. Hanumantha Rao advised Azharuddin to contest from Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency in 2019 elections. They said being a Hyderabadi, Azharuddin has a better understanding and knowledge about the problems being faced by the people in the city and therefore, they said he should contest the next elections from Hyderabad seat.

It may be mentioned that Azharuddin was elected to Lok Sabha from Moradabad seat in Uttar Pradesh in 2009 elections on a Congress ticket. This time, the Telangana Congress leaders are trying to field him against AIMIM President Asaduddin Owaisi from Hyderabad seat. (INN