Assembly Elections: Who will break the record of “Salaar” in MIM?

Hyderabad: Next General Elections of Telangana Assembly will be interesting. The voters are waiting to see who is going to get MIM ticket for Yakutpura Assembly Constituency?

There is a tradition of MIM that no candidate is given ticket after winning four terms. Only the former President of MIM, Mr. Sultan Salahuddin Owaisi (Salaar) has the distinction of getting elected continuously for five times.

It remains to be seen whether the sitting MLA, Mr. Mumtaz Ahmed Khan will get the ticket for Yakutpura Assembly Constituency or not? Although he won elections five times, for the first time in 1994, he had won the election on the ticket given by MBT. In 1999, he joined MIM. If he gets a ticket for the next elections, the record of “Salaar” will be broken.

MIM sources indicate that after the restoration of the party, no candidate was given a ticket for more than two or three times.

The founder of MBT, Mr. Amanullah Khan was the only candidate who represented Chandrayangutta Assembly constituency four times. In 1993, he got separated from MIM and founded MBT. He lost the election in 1999.

The question is making rounds in MIM circles whether any candidate will break Salaar’s record? There are also rumours that three sitting MLAs might be changed.

–Siasat News