APPSC reforms committee gets CM’s nod

Hyderabad, January 01: Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy has approved the constitution of high level committee to study and recommend the proposals given by the Andhra Pradesh Public Service Commission (APPSC) members for certain reforms in APPSC.

The Committee will be headed by Special Chief Secretary to Government (GPM and AR) Minnie Mathews. The members of the Committee will be Principal Secretary (Finance), Secretary (law), Director General (Centre for Good Governance), Secretary, APPSC and the Secretary (Services) will be the Member/Convenor.

It may be recalled that the APPSC proposed certain recommendations and suggestions for carrying out amendments to the rules of procedure. The recommendations are with regard to finance autonomy, control of examinations, restoration of departmental committees and adoption of yearly calendar etc.

The Members of APPSC in their representation requested the Chief Minister to appoint a committee to go through the above reforms for its effective implementation.

The High Level Committee will submit its recommendations to Government through Chief Secretary. (INN)