Another Telangana MP quits

Hyderabad, July 07: Another MP from Telangana resigned on Thursday, the 15th parliamentarian to do so in a bid to further the demand for separate statehood for the region.

Telugu Desam Party’s (TDP) Rajya Sabha MP Gundu Sudha Rani declared that she would be sending her resignation to Rajya Sabha chairman Hamid Ansari.

Nine Lok Sabha members of Congress party and two members each of TDP and Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) have already signed while one Rajya Sabha member of Congress party has also quit.

As many as 99 members of Andhra Pradesh assembly from the region, belonging to the ruling Congress, TDP, TRS, the Communist Party of India (CPI), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Praja Rajyam Party (PRP), have also submitted their resignations.