Another IPS officer transferred in Andhra Pradesh

Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh): The Election Commission has issued orders for the transfer of yet another IPS officer in Andhra Pradesh, just two days before the state is set to go for polls.

The EC on Tuesday issued transfer orders for Prakasam district SP Koya Praveen. This comes two weeks after it had issued transfer orders for three IPS officers, namely Intelligence Director General AB Venkateswara Rao, Kadapa Superintendent of Police (SP) Rahul Dev Sharma and Srikakulam SP Venkata Ratnam, after YSR Congress Party leaders accused them of working in favour of the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP).
The poll body also ordered the transfer of Srinivas Rao, the Circle Inspector of Tadepalli in Guntur dis
Speaking to ANI, EC officials, while confirming the transfers, said the two officers have been assigned non-election duties.

It may be noted that Tadepalli falls under Mangalagiri assembly constituency, the seat from where the state’s IT minister Nara Lokesh will be contesting in the impending polls.

Earlier, the YSRCP had claimed that Tadepalli CI was acting in favour of the ruling party.

Polling for 175-member Andhra Pradesh Assembly is scheduled to be held on April 11 simultaneously with the Lok Sabha polls. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.