All Opposition parties dharna held at Indira Park over EC failures

Hyderabad: The TPCC today organized an all-Opposition party dharna at Indira park to highlight failures of the Election Commission in conducting the recent Assembly elections properly.

TPCC president N. Uttam Kumar Reddy, CLP leader Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, former TPCC Chief Ponnala Laxmaiah, MP Nandi Yellaiah, Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) president M. Kodandaram, CPI State secretary Chada Venkat Reddy and others took part in the dharna program.

Speaking on the occasion, TPCC president Uttam Kumar Reddy alleged that there was a lot of difference between the polled votes and the votes counted. He said when they urged the EC to count the vvpats, the commission didn’t listen to their demand. In Rajasthan and Chattisgarh, the vvpats were also counted. But in Telangana, the officials didn’t do so,” he said.

Reddy said the Election Commission went ahead with the elections without making changes to the voters’ list. He alleged that the EC had failed to hold free and fair elections in the State. He also alleged that all democratic institutions were diluted in the State. He demanded that the EC hold the upcoming elections on ballot paper in the State and the country. He also demanded that the Election Commission count the vvpats in all the seats where the winning margin was less than 10,000 votes. He also alleged that chief electoral officer Rajat Kumar didn’t keep his promise made before the High Court.