Akhilesh transfers 112 cops

In what amounts to a virtual change of guard in Uttar Pradesh’s top police establishment, Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav Tuesday reshuffled 112 officers, including four directors general of police (DGPs) and 65 of the state’s 75 superintendents of police (SPs).

The large scale transfers also include eight additional directors general (ADG), 16 inspectors general (IG) and 19 deputy inspectors general.

This means that 65 of the 75 districts in the state now have new police chiefs. The remaining were changed earlier.

Removing all officials posted by his predecessor Mayawati, Akhilesh Yadav has posted new district police chiefs in almost the entire state, including Moradabad, Allahabad, Saharanpur, Varanasi and Bulandshahr to name a few.

The entire top brass of the police in districts neighbouring New Delhi, in western Uttar Pradesh, have been rejigged and have new and loyal faces of the new Samajwadi Party (SP) government.

Some of the changes include Kannauj, represented by Akhilesh Yadav in parliament, which has a new police chief in Vinod Kumar Singh and Ashutosh Kumar, hitherto SP (Railways) in Agra who has been sent as SSP (senior superintendent of police) of Noida.