Akbaruddin Owaisi versus Congress’s Wrestler: Esa Misri confident of winning Chandrayangutta seat

Hyderabad: Bodybuilder Esa Misri, Congress candidate from the Chandrayangutta constituency in the forthcoming Telangana assembly elections, expressed confidence of winning the seat since his focus is on development of the area, building government schools and hospitals, and women empowerment, unlike his rivals.

Misri will be contesting against Bharatiya Janata Party’s Shehzadi and All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) president Asaduddin Owaisi’s younger brother Akbaruddin Owaisi.

“I was never into politics. My full attention was on bodybuilding. I have brought three medals for India from the US and I am very proud of it. Since past one year, I have been closely monitoring old city politics. The leaders who are ruling the old city are targeting one community and threatening them that if they don’t elect the leaders, the community as a whole will be in danger,” Misri told ANI.

“In our country, all religious people live together but these few politicians are playing with the (emotions of the) public and dividing them into groups. Leaders should seek votes from the public by offering them development, not religious sentiments. The people of Chandrayangutta constituency are looking for a change,” he added.

Misri said that his agenda in the elections is “development, building government schools and hospitals, and women empowerment in Chandrayangutta.”

“If Congress comes to power in Telangana and if electors of Chandrayangutta accept me as their MLA then I will work hard and make the area more developed. Everyone thinks that winning against Owaisi will be very difficult. But the local public are looking for a change and everyone will see the result soon,” he added.

The Assembly elections in the state are scheduled to be held on December 7 to elect members from 119 constituencies. Counting of votes will take place on December 11. The Telangana Assembly was dissolved prematurely in September on the recommendation of the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) government.