Ajmer, Alwar, Mandalgarh votes for Rajasthan bypolls

Jaipur: The bypolls in Lok Sabha constituencies of Alwar and Ajmer, and for Mandalgarh assembly seat in Rajasthan began at 8 a.m. on Monday.

The by-elections assume significance as they come a year ahead of the assembly polls in 2019.

Around 40 lakh voters would cast their votes in the closely fought battle between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress.

In Ajmer, BJP leader Sanwarlal Jat’s son Ramswaroop Lamba is contesting against Congress’ Raghu Sharma, who is a former legislator.

Similarly, Jaswant Yadav, a sitting Rajasthan Minister, is contesting from Alwar against former MP Karan Singh Yadav from Congress.

In Mandalgarh, the fight is between BJP’s Shankti Singh Hada and Congress’ Vivek Dhakad.

The Election Commission has ensured that the media and public receive timely and regualr information on voters’ turnout.

According to Deputy Chief Election Officer M.

M. Tiwari, the poll panel has launched a new portal RAJ&SMS which will give details on the hourly turnout of voters.

The mobile numbers of all presiding officers are registered with this portal.

Strict instructions have been given to officers to give an update on voters turnout every two hours.