Ajay Tyagi replaces Finance Secretary Mehrishi on RBI board

New Delhi, July 31 : The finance ministry has nominated Ajay Tyagi, Additional Secretary in the Department of Economic Affairs to the RBI board.

He replaces Finance Secretary Rajiv Mehrishi.

“In exercise of the power conferred by clause (d) of sub-section (1) of Section 8 of the RBI ACT 1934, the central government hereby nominates Ajay Tyagi, additional secretary (Investment) Department of Economic Affairs Ministry of Finance, to be director on the Central Board of Directors of RBI with immediate effect until further order vice Rajiv Mehrishi,” a finance ministry notification said.

As per the RBI website, there are 17 board members including RBI Governor and four Deputy Governors. (ANI)