AICC emissary speaks to all Congress MLAs, Rahul may declare Bhatti as CLP leader

Hyderabad: Congress Legislature Party meeting was held in the Assembly committee hall on Thursday. All the 19 elected MLAs of the party attended the meeting.

The meeting was presided over by AICC special emissary KC Venugopal, who held one-to-one discussion with each of the all 19 MLAs of the party. Some of the aspirants for the post urged the AICC leader to consider their candidature for the post. At the end, all the MLAs of the party told the AICC emissary that they were leaving the decision to elect CLP leader to Congress president Rahul Gandhi. The meeting also passed a single-sentence resolution to this effect,

Addressing mediapersons along Party’s Telangana incharge RC Kuntia and TPCC president N. Uttam Kumar Reddy later, Venugopal said the party president would take a decision on the appointment of the CLP leader. He said he had already held discussions on the issue with core committee members of the party, senior leaders and MLCs of the party. He said that party supremo Rahul Gandhi would elect the CLP leader. TPCC working president and three-time MLA of the party Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka have emerged as the front runners to the post. The party sources said the party high command may favour the candidature of Mallu as he belongs to Schedule Class. He worked as chief whip and Deputy Speaker of the party earlier.