Advani, Joshi figure in BJP’s list of star campaigners for Bihar polls

New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) veterans Lal Krishna Advani and Murali Manohar Joshi, including actor-politician Shatrughan Sinha who had lavished praise on Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on several occasions, figure in the party’s list of star campaigners for the Bihar Assembly polls.

Both veterans, who are members of the BJP’s “Margdarshak Mandal”, had been kept away from the last few elections.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s name starred at the top of the list of 40 names which was submitted to the Election Commission.

The star campaigners also include Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Nitin Gadkari Ananth Kumar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Smriti Irani, Dharmendra Pradhan, Giriraj Singh and Rajiv Pratap Rudy.

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and his Jharkhand counterpart Raghubar Das will also campaign in the state. Party’s star leaders Hema Malini and Navjot Singh Sidhu also are there in the list of campaigners.

The five-phase elections in Bihar will commence on October 12.