ABVP victory in the University of Hyderabad is because of the Left-Dalit divide?

After a span of eight long years, the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has managed to sweep the University of Hyderabad students union elections. BJP leaders took on Twitter to congratulate ABVP University of Hyderabad students unit.

Though ABVP won the Delhi University elections, it faced defeat in the hands of United Left in Jawaharlal Nehru University. Whereas in the University of Allahabad, it was defeated by an alliance of Congress and Samajwadi party-backed student organisations.

Since 1993 the UoH has been a bastion of Communist Party of India (Marxist) backed Students Federation of India (SFI), The last time ABVP was in power was in 2009-2010.

One of the reasons that seem to have secured ABVP victory is the ideological difference between SFI and ASA over two less known Muslim student organizations, Muslim Students Front, Students Islamic organization as well as the National Students Union of India.

The newly elected UoH president Aarti Nagpal said “We focused on issues pertaining to the students, unlike other organisations that failed to deliver while in power. Their campaigns revolved just around defeating ABVP.”
Sanjay Jonnalgadda, the SFI member, while speaking on the loss, said, “We thought that if UDA gets its normal vote share, ABVP will also get less number of votes and SFI will win with a thin margin. However, UDA could not garner enough votes.”

The former head of Telangana BJP G Kishan Reddy and BJYM National VP Thakur Ranjit Das congratulated on Twitter for the ABVP UoH unit over its victory in varsity’s SU elections.

[source_without_link]SIASAT NEWS[/source_without_link]