AAP urges EC to disqualify BJP’s parliamentary secretaries

New Delhi: A delegation of AAP leaders on Thursday met Election Commission officials and sought disqualification of BJP legislators who have “illegally” been appointed as parliamentary secretaries in Punjab, Haryana and Rajasthan.

The delegation, led by senior Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Sanjay Singh, complained against legislators in these states allegedly enjoying “office of profit” as parliamentary secretaries.

“The appointment of MLAs as parliamentary secretaries in Punjab, Haryana and Rajasthan are illegal so their membership should be cancelled. We urged the Election Commission to look into the matter and disqualify the parliamentary secretaries in these states,” Singh told reporters after the meeting.

Earlier this week the Election Commission had sought the replies of the 21 AAP legislators regarding their appointment as parliamentary secretaries despite lack of constitutional provisions for the same.

The Delhi government had sought an amendment to the Delhi Members of Legislative Assembly (Removal of Disqualification) Act, 1997, to exclude the post of parliamentary secretary from the office of profit.

However, President Pranab Mukherjee rejected the Bill earlier this month, leaving the fate of 21 parliamentary secretaries hanging in balance.

The 21 legislators now face the risk of disqualification.

Several petitions had been filed with the President seeking disqualification of these MLAs on the ground that they occupied office of profit in violation of the Constitution.