94.93% votes polled in Singareni union elections

94.93% votes polled in Singareni union elections

In a record of sorts, Singareni Collieries Employees Union election on Thursday saw voter turnout of 94.93 per cent.

According to information, by the time polling ended at 5 pm, a total of 49,873 out of 52,534 voters exercised their franchise in 11 divisions. Officials made arrangements for counting from 7pm and results will be declared on completion of the process by late night at 12 hours. Police officials made adequate security arrangements and the polling was conducted in a peaceful manner.

While 16 trade unions contested the poll, the ruling party supported TGBKS which was in fray alone, the Opposition parties joined hands to support the CPI-led AITUC with INTUC and TNTUC. The poll percentage was 92.81 at 4 pm, including Illandu 97.03, Kothagudem 95.07 per cent, Corporate area 94.51, Manuguru 96.43, Srirampur 92.99, Mandamarri 92.75. Bellampally 95.41 per cent votes polled. The political parties, which took the Singareni union polls as a prestige issue had conducted a vociferous campaigning to woo the voters.

While the entire election process will be held under the supervision of officials from the Union Labour Ministry, the counting of votes will be taken up in the evening and the results will be announced late on Thursday night.

Curiously, the Singareni union polls witnessed strange coalition politics with arch-rivals Congress and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) joining hands with the Left to form an alliance. They intend to take on the Telangana Boggu Ghani Karmika Sangham (TGBKS) promoted by the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS). The Congress and TDP leaders have also jointly campaigned in the run-up to the polls and are leaving no stone unturned to win the elections.

The main contest was between Telangana Boggu Ghani Karmika Sangham (TGBKS), affiliated to the ruling TRS, and All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC), affiliated to CPI, supported by national trade unions such as Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC) of Congress, Telugu Nadu Trade Union Council (TNTUC) of Telugu Desam Party, and Hind Mazdoor Sangh (HMS), Bharatiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS) and Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU). (NSS)