85.48% polling recorded in Palair

The Palair bye-election in Khammam district today registered 85.48 per cent polling as against 90 percent in the last election. The polling was held in a peaceful manner. Since morning, the voters patiently waited in polling queues and the polling officials allowed them to exercise their franchise.


There are four mandals in Palair Assembly constituency —Thirumalayapalem, Koosumanchi, Khammam Rural and the officials set up 248 polling booths. The polling started at 7 am but the voters stood in queues since 6 am. The Election Commission allowed the voters to cast their votes till 6pm keeping the high temperatures.


Thummala Nageshwara Rao from TRS party, Ramreddy Sucharitha Reddy from Congress party and Pothineni Sudharshan Rao from CPM were in the fray in Palaiar bye-election. The TDP and YSRCP extended their support to the Congress candidate in the election. The result will be announced on May 19.

The bye-election was necessitated due to the demise of sitting MLA Ramreddy Venkat Reddy. (NSS)