74.23 lakh electors for GHMC elections

74.23 lakh electors for GHMC elections

GHMC Election Authority Dr. B. Janardhan Reddy informed that in the ensuing GHMC elections, a total of 74,23,980 voters are enrolled.

Speaking to the media persons at the GHMC head office, he said that the voters include 39,69,007 male, 34,53,910 female voters and 1063 other voters.

The voters can download their voters slip through a mobile web app created by the GHMC for the convenience of the citizens to cast their vote. The citizens have been requested to kindly go to play store and type tsec space voter slip and to download the said app and they have to type their voter ID where they can get the ward name, polling station centre, voter serial number and other related information can be obtained said the Election Authority.

The Election Authority said that only in one day around 1,25,000 have downloaded this app and taken the details of the voter slips. To increase the poll percentage the GHMC has introduced a special ringtone for the for participation of the voters to cast their vote through this ringtone the GHMC is creating awareness to the citizens to participate in the elections and to cast their vote to improve the poll percentage. A separate stall is also being arranged at all India Industrial Exhibition, Nampally for awareness of the citizens.

As per the directions of the Election Commission of India the GHMC has removed 42,344 posters, 32,942 banners, 37,800 flexies, 5,265 cutouts today. The Election authority said that the GHMC is involving various civic societies, Residential Welfare Associations, NGOS to improve the poll percentage to this effect a meeting is being conducted with all the organisations on 18.01.2016 at 4PM at Panwar Hall, GHMC Head Office Tank Bund, Hyderabad.

Dr. Janardhan Reddy appealed to the contesting candidates to furnish the ID proof of that particular ward where he is contesting a certified copy has to be produced while filing the nominations to the concerned Returning Officers.

Additional Commissioners, Surendra Mohan, C. Ramakrishna Rao, N. Ravi Kiran, Shankaraiah and Bhaskara Chary have participated in the press meet. (INN)