Over 50 YSRC MLAs suspended, House rocked by ‘call money racket’ issue

Hyderabad: More than 50 members of YSR Congress, including Opposition leader YS Jaganmohan Reddy, were on Friday suspended from Andhra Pradesh Assembly after they staged protest to press for a debate on ‘call money racket’, stalling proceedings in the House.

The Opposition members were suspended till the conclusion of the ongoing debate on Constitution and the contribution of Dr BR Ambedkar to its making and some of them were evicted by marshals after they refused to leave the House.

As the Speaker was about to take up the debate on the Constitution, the YSRC members started shouting slogans seeking a debate on the ‘call money’ racket and stalled proceedings in support of their demand.

‘Call money’ refers to a mode of private lending where loan is made available instantly at borrower’s doorstep but at exorbitant rates of interest, and the lender can demand repayment anytime over a call.

Over 80 call money operators, many of them having different political affiliations, have so far been arrested across the state in connection with the racket.

Speaker K Sivaprasada Rao adjourned the House in the din, but it was the same scene after the house reassembled.

The Speaker took up the debate on Constitution and the contribution of Ambedkar. Several TDP members found fault with the YSRC for not taking part in an important issue like Constitution and services of Ambedkar.

Legislative Affairs Minister Y Ramakrishnudu said it was unfortunate that the Opposition did not let the House take up debate on an important issue like the Constitution.

The Opposition parties in Parliament participated in the debate on the subject though they were not on the same page with the government, he said.

As the YSRC members continued their protests in the Well raising slogans, he moved a motion seeking their suspension for stalling the House.

The Speaker then announced their suspension till the debate on the subject of Constitution is concluded.

As the slogan shouting Opposition members did not leave the House despite repeated appeals, panel speaker BK Parathasarathi called the marshals who evicted them.