2013 Muzaffarnagar Riots: Several BJP leaders to walk free as UP Govt decides to withdraw 18 cases

Muzaffarnagar: Several leaders from the ruling party that has been named in as many as 125 cases in relation to the Muzaffarnagar riots of 2013 will walk free as the Uttar Pradesh government has decided to withdraw at least 18 cases related to the Muzaffarnagar riots.

The Government has directed the district authorities to initiate the withdrawal process after it had sought details of 125 cases filed in relation to the 2013 Muzaffarnagar riots said the sources on Sunday.

UP’s special secretary of law JJ Singh has directed the Muzaffarnagar district magistrate Rajeev Sharma to withdraw 18 cases that were filed under relevant sections of IPC including 147 (rioting), 148 (rioting, armed with deadly weapon) and 397 (attempt to cause death).

Additional district magistrate Amit Kumar told PTI that the state government had sought the details to review the possibility of withdrawing the 125 cases pending in courts.

Several leaders of the ruling BJP, including MPs Sanjeev Balyan and Bharatendra Singh, MLAs Sangeet Som and Umesh Malik, have been named in these 125 cases.

While Minister in the state government- Suresh Rana and Hindutva leader Sadhvi Prachi are also accused in cases related to the Muzaffarnagar riots.

Communal clashes that broke out in August and September 2013 have claimed at least 60 lives and displaced over 40,000 people in Muzaffarnagar following which the state government had instructed a SIT to probe into the riot cases.

The SIT has filed charge sheets in 175 cases in relation with the Muzaffarnagar Riots.

While the Police have registered cases against 6,869 people and arrested 1,480 people in connection with the riots.