2008 Malegaon blast: Lt Col Purohit moves HC

NEW DELHI: 2008 Malegaon blast case accused Lt Col Prasad Shrikant Purohit has moved the Bombay High Court against the sessions court decision on the validity of Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA) charge against him.

A special NIA court had last week rejected the pleas filed by Purohit and other accused in the case.

Purohit, Pragya Singh Thakur, retired Major Ramesh Upadhyay, Sameer Kulkarni, Ajay Rahirkar, Sudhakar Chaturvedi and Sudhakar Dwivedi-challenging the validity of the anti-terror law in the case.

[also_read url=”https://www.siasat.com/news/sc-judge-recuses-hearing-plea-malegaon-blast-accused-1398508/”]SC Judge recuses from hearing plea of Malegaon blast accused[/also_read]

Purohit was granted bail by the Supreme Court on August 12, 2017.

He is the main accused in the Malegaon blast, which killed six persons and nearly 100 injured in the Muslim-dominated powerloom town in Maharashtra’s Nashik district, on September 29, 2008.