17th Lok Sabha: Triple talaq, NRC, Article 370 and 35A on Modi’s to-do list

NEW DELHI: After a very long time, we are going have a Lok Sabha, a unique in India’s parliamentary history. We are going to witnesses a Parliament where both houses will have speakers and deputy speakers belonging to the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance or parties of its choice.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with other MPs on Monday took oath in the 17th Lok Sabha, after the non-congress government re-elected into office following a clear majority in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in May.

At present, the BJP and its allies have 102 members in the 245-member upper house.

With such dominance of the ruling party, the 17th Lok Sabha will see the passing of the Union Budget and some key legislations including the most controversial one, Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2019 (Triple Talaq Bill being on top of the government’s agenda during the Monsoon Session of Parliament.

The Centre will also introduce issues including the implementation of the National Registry of Citizens across India, abrogation of Article 370 and 35A, the Aadhaar and other laws (Amendment) Bill, 2019, are some among them.

Discussion on issues such as farmers distress, unemployment and drought come in the former category. Also, this government will have to deal with the Ayodhya case.