10 dissident MLAs submit resignation to Speaker

Chennai: Ten dissident MLAs in the Tamil Nadu Assembly, including eight from the main opposition DMDK, today tendered their resignation to Speaker P Dhanapal, a move which comes ahead of the Assembly elections in the state.

“Yes. It is true. Ten of us have tendered resignation,” one of the MLAs who did not wanted to be quoted, told PTI.

The Speaker’s office could not be reached immediately.

The DMDK MLAs who tendered their resignation are– C Arun Pandian, M Arun Subramanian, K Pandiarajan, K Tamil Azhagan, S Michael Rayappan, R Sundarrajan, T Suresh Kumar and R Santhi.

A Ramasamy (Puthiya Tamizhagam) and Kalai Arasu (PMK) also tendered their resignation, sources said.

While the 10 MLAs belonged to the respective opposition parties, they had in the last few years shifted their allegiance towards the ruling AIADMK.