Tuesday , May 30 2017
Home / News / Hyderabad / TRS wins Warangal MLC seat unanimously

TRS wins Warangal MLC seat unanimously

Hyderabad: Former MLC and TRS candidate Konda Murali and was declared elected unopposed from the Warangal Local Authorities’ Constituency on Thursday.

Konda Murali is the husband of former minister and sitting TRS MLA Konda Surekha. The couple had joined TRS just before 2014 elections. He had also served as the Warangal DCCB Chairman in the past.

While the opposition TDP-BJP combine and four independent candidates withdrew from the contest, the nomination of one independent candidate was rejected. With Konda Murali being the lone candidate in the fray, he was declared elected unanimously.

The TRS is expecting similar results in majority of 12 seats where elections are scheduled to be held on December 27. The elections will be held for Telangana Legislative Council from Local Authorities Constituencies of Adilabad, Nizamabad, Karimnagar, Medak, Rangareddy, Mahabubnagar, Nalgonda and Khammam. (INN)