Friday , August 18 2017
Home / News / Telangana / TDP-BJP to field common candidate in Warangal by-polls

TDP-BJP to field common candidate in Warangal by-polls

Telugu Desam Party and Bharatiya Janata Party have decided to field a common candidate in the by-elections for Warangal Lok Sabha seat.

The decision was taken during a meeting of senior leaders of both the parties. The meeting was attended by L. Ramana, M. Narasimhulu, R. Chandrashekar, Errabelli Dayakar Rao and Revanth Reddy of TDP and G. Kishan Reddy, Bandaru Dattatraya and Dr. K. Lakshman of BJP. A coordination committee has been constituted to select the candidate and also to spearhead the election campaign.

Speaking to media persons later, Telangana TDP President Ramana said instead of TDP and BJP contesting the elections separately, they have decided to fight the polls as NDA. He claimed that the NDA candidate would win the Warangal seat.

Telangana BJP President Kishan Reddy said that the candidate would be picked intelligently so as to increase the winning chances.

Meanwhile, Ramana accused Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao of confining the government to his farm house. He said farmers women and youth were highly disappointed with the TRS Government.

It may be mentioned that the TDP had left the Warangal seat for BJP in 2014 elections. It also did not contest the by-election for Medak Lok Sabha seat. Therefore, the TDP leaders say that this time the BJP should support TDP candidate in Warangal by-elections. (INN)