Tuesday , August 22 2017
Home / Entertainment / Hollywood / Shonda Rhimes to receive the 2016 Norman Lear Award

Shonda Rhimes to receive the 2016 Norman Lear Award

Los Angeles: “Grey’s Anatomy” and “Scandal” creator Shonda Rhimes is set to be honoured with the 2016 Norman Lear Achievement Award in television.

Bosses at the Producers Guild of America will salute the TV mogul for her nearly 20 years as a producer and showrunner at the PGA Awards on January 23, said the Hollywood Reporter.

“Shonda Rhimes is one of the most passionate and insightful storytellers in entertainment today,” Producers Guild Awards co-chairs Michael DeLuca and Jennifer Todd said in a joint statement.

“Her pioneering work on Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, and How To Get Away With Murder has redefined the role of women in media and spurred the debate about diversity in television.

“Like the intelligent, strong, and fearless characters she creates, Shonda is a true force to be reckoned with and we are privileged to honor her with this year’s Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television.”

Previous recipients of the PGA prize include Aaron Spelling, David E Kelley, J J Abrams and Jerry Bruckheimer.