Monday , May 29 2017
Home / News / RLSP raises concerns after BJP releases first list

RLSP raises concerns after BJP releases first list

New Delhi: The BJP has thrashed out a seat-sharing agreement with its allies for the Bihar assembly polls, seat-selection continues to be a thorny issue with Rashtriya Lok Samata Party on Wednesday expressing reservations over the party “unilaterally” going ahead with declaration of its first list of candidates.

After RLSP leaders raised their concerns, the BJP leaders held a series of meetings to sort out the issue.

Sources said union minister and BJP’s election incharge Anant Kumar held a meeting at his residence with party’s allies in the National Democratic Alliance. BJP general secretary incharge of Bihar Bhupendra Yadav also held discussions with leaders of RLSP, which is led by union minister Upendra Kushwaha.

According to sources, RLSP has objected the announcement of candidates on about five seats which it wanted for itself.

“The discussions were still being held on specific seats but BJP announced its candidates unilaterly. We have objection to this. We will raise the issue on right platform,” RLSP spokesperson Faizal Imam told IANS.

“What BJP did was against the coalition dharma. We should have taken into confidence,” he added.

Sources said that Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) leader Jiten Ram Manjhi met Bharatiya Janata Party president Amit Shah amid discussions among allies on seats.

The BJP on Tuesday released its first list of candidates for Bihar assembly polls with 43 names.

Bihar will go for five-phased election from October 12 to November 5.

The BJP has decided to contest 160 seats in 243-member Bihar assembly, leaving the remaining to its allies – Lok Janshakti Party (40), HAM (20) and RLSP (23).