Monday , July 24 2017
Home / News / Hyderabad / Protocol issue: City TDP, BJP MLAs meet CS

Protocol issue: City TDP, BJP MLAs meet CS

Greater TDP and BJP MLAs today met Telangana Chief Secretary Dr Rajiv Sharma and lodged a complaint about violation of protocol by the ministers hailing from Hyderabad.

Speaking to the media later, TDP MLA Gopinath said they would also lodge a complaint with the Governor and Assembly Speaker in this regard. Though Home Minister Nayani Narasimha Reddy was in-charge of Hyderabad district, another minister Talasani Srinivas Yadav was visiting the areas in the city and inaugurating various government programs, Gopinath said. He also alleged that the City MLAs were not being taken into confidence and no importance was being given to them. “Therefore, we have brought to the notice of the Chief Secretary about the protocol violations.

Though the Telangana government issued Memo No. 240/Poll.A/2015-1 dated April 27, 2015 and the Union government’s Memo No. 11013/4/2011 Estt dated November 19, 2014, on the protocol issue, the officials of the Telangana government were violating the protocol norms repeatedly and causing insult to the people’s representatives in the presence of public.

The TDP and BJP legislators have demanded that the Telangana government take immediate action with regard to protocol issue and release a GO. They demanded that the government make it compulsory that the area MLA should the chief guest at all government programs; MLAs should be informed by the officials about various government programs in advance; the local officials should cooperate with the MLA in finding solutions to the problems of the people; Local MLA should be given importance in the selection of beneficiaries of the government programs; the local MLA should be given importance in the plaques of government programs attended by even Chief Minister or Union minister.

The signatories to the memorandum are: Maganti Gopinath, G. Sayanna and T Prakash Goud, TDP MLAs, Chintala Ramachandra Reddy, BJP MLA and N. Ramchender Rao, BJP MLC. (NSS)