Sunday , August 20 2017
Home / Education and Career / Police arrangement for TET exam

Police arrangement for TET exam

Kolkata: Four to five police personnel including one police woman would be present at each centres in the city to hold the Teacher Eligibility Test on Sunday.

“Strong arrangements have been made to counter any untoward incident during Sunday’s TET exam. There will be four to five of our officers present at each centres where TET will be held. There will be one woman officer also,” a senior police officer of Kolkata Police said today.

There are 60 centres in and its added areas of the city where mobiles phones would also not be allowed on Sunday, the officer said.

The step has been taken to prevent cheating during the test, conducted by the West Bengal School Services Commission (WBSSC), he said adding that there are 13 centres in the South 24 Parganas.

The decision was taken at a high-level meeting held today at Kolkata Police headquarters at Lalbazar among senior police officers, ADMs, Additional SPs, Divisional DCs and West Bengal Central School Service Commission chairman Subiresh Bhattacharjee.

“At the centres WBSSC officials will check whether the candidates are carrying any mobile phones or not. We (Kolkata Police officers) will be there to help them in the process,” the IPS said.

Kolkata Police officers would be posted at the gates of each centre and only on request on behalf of the WBSSC officials would enter the campus of the venue, he added.

Over five lakh candidates are scheduled to appear for Sunday’s TET examination out of which around 40 per cent are women.

And around 22 lakh candidates would appear for the TET for Upper Primary Level scheduled for August 30.

State Education Minister Partha Chatterjee yesterday had held a video conference with all district magistrates.

Chatterjee has asked them to monitor the situation so that candidates do not have to face any trouble while reaching their venues on both the examination dates.

Last time TET examinations were held in 2012 and candidates who had appeared that year are eligible to sit in the tests this year too, Commission sources said.