Monday , May 29 2017
Home / News / Delhi / PM to inaugurate Delhi Economics Conclave tomorrow

PM to inaugurate Delhi Economics Conclave tomorrow

New Delhi, Nov. 5 : Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the Delhi Economics Conclave (DEC) 2015 here tomorrow.

The theme of the DEC this year is “Realizing India’s JAM ( Jan-Dhan Aadhar Mobile) Vision”. The session will have inaugural address by the Prime Minister followed by opening remarks from Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley. The other dignitaries to be participate in the inaugural session include Minister of State for Finance Jayant Sinha and Chief Economic Adviser(CEA) Dr. Arivnd Subramanian among others.

In the opening plenary session on ‘International and Indian Experience and Future’, Dr. Arvind Panagriya, Vice Chairman, Niti Ayog will be in the chair. Prof. Brian Forde, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Luis Henrique Paiva from Brazil would be among the key Speakers. Cabinet Secretary Pradeep Kumar Sinha will speak on ‘Indian Experience’.

In the second plenary session on ‘The benefits and risks of biometric authentication-evidence from social programs in India’ Yaduvendra Mathur, Chairman, EXIM Bank, will be in the chair. Prof. Karthik Muralidharan, Professor of Economics, University of California-San Diego will be the Speaker.

The third session in the afternoon on ‘Beneficiaries’ experiences with technology-based targeting’ will be chaired by J.S. Deepak, Secretary, Department of Electronics and Communication Technology, Government of India. Paul Niehaus, Associate Professor of Economics, University of San Diego and Founder, Give Directly, will be the Speaker. A Babu, District Collector, Krishna District, Andhra Pradesh, Dr. A. Santhosh Mathew, Joint Secretary(Skills &IT), Ministry of Rural Development and Renana Jhabvala, SEWA Bharat President will be among the Discussants.

In the fourth plenary session on ‘Financial Inclusion and DBT-the uncovered territory’, Jayant Sinha will be in chair while RBI Governor Dr. Raghuram Rajan will be the Speaker. Pawan Bakshi, Financial Services for the Poor Program, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Vijay Shekhar Sharma, Founder, Paytm and Rajesh Aggarwal, Mission Director, PMJDY will be the discussants.

In the fifth plenary session on the theme ‘Political economy and States’ perspectives and preparedness’, Minister of State (IC) for Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas Dharmendra Pradhan will be in chair. Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu will be the Speaker while the discussants will include Ram Sewak Sharma, Chairman, TRAI, Vrinda Sarup, Secretary, Department of Public Distribution and Sandip Sukhtankar, Assistant Professor, Dartmouth College, U.S.

The first post- tea plenary session will have Conversation on ‘JAM+Vision for Future’. The participants will be Dr. Arvind Subrmanian, Chief Economic Adviser, and Nandan Nilekani, former Chairman, UIDAI.

The closing session will have panel discussion on the theme of ‘JAM Vision – Challenges and Way Forward’ and will be moderated by the Union Finance Minister. The panelists include Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu, Shri Raman Singh, Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh, Oomen Chandy, Chief Minister of Kerala, Dharmendra Pradhan, Minister of State (IC), MoPNG and Jayant Sinha. The Union Finance Minister will wrap-up the discussions. With this, the one-day conclave will come to an end. (ANI)