Monday , May 29 2017
Home / News / Hyderabad / Opposition MLAs held for protest at Gun Park

Opposition MLAs held for protest at Gun Park

The legislators belonging to all opposition parties were taken into custody when they staged dharna at Gun Park, opposite Assembly building, over the farmers’ issues.

Immediately after the adjournment of the Telangana State Legislative Assembly on Thursday, the MLAs, belonging to Congress, TDP, BJP, YSRCP, CPI and CPI (M), came to Gun Park in a procession. They strongly objected the way Assembly was adjourned till Monday. They said that the State Government did not come out with a specific assurance to overcome the ongoing agrarian crisis. They MLAs raised slogans against the government, Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao and Agriculture Minister Pocharam Srinivas Reddy.

All the protesting MLAs were then taken into custody by the Hyderabad City Police and shifted to Nampally Police Station.

Those arrested include Leader of Opposition K. Jana Reddy, TPCC chief N. Uttam Kumar Reddy, TTDP President L. Ramana, BJP chief G. Kishan Reddy, BJP floor leader Dr. K. Lakshman, YSRCP MLA P. Keshavulu, CPI MLA Sunnam Rajaiah and CPM MLA R Ravinder Kumar and 17 other MLAs.

Speaking to media persons at Nampally police station, Jana Reddy, Ramana and other floor leaders alleged that the TRS Government was not serious on welfare of farmers. They said while the government failed to prevent farmers’ suicide, it also failed to give concrete assurance to the farming community to prevent further suicides. They said that the two-day long debate held in the Assembly remained inconclusive and government did not come out with a specific reply.

The opposition leaders announced that they would continue the protest till farmers get justice. (INN)