Thursday , May 25 2017
Home / News / Telangana / Opposition members suspended for disrupting Assembly

Opposition members suspended for disrupting Assembly

As many 32 members of opposition Congress, TDP, BJP, YSRCP and the Left parties were suspended from Telangana Legislative Assembly for remainder of the ongoing monsoon session for disrupting the proceedings of the House while insisting on a payment of crop loan waiver dues in single take.

As soon as the House met on Monday, the opposition members began protest demanding that the State Government come out with a specific assurance on farmers issue. They ignored repeated pleas of Speaker S Madhusudhana Chary to resume seats so as to take up the Question Hour. The Speaker said that issue has already been discussed for two days and as discussed in the Business Advisory Committee meeting, the House must take up Question Hour.

While holding placards in their hands, the Congress members rushed to the podium.

Intervening on the issue, Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao said that the State Government was highly concerned about farmers’ suicides and for the same reason it had elaborate debate on the issue for two days. He said that the House discussed the issue for almost 12 hours and the opposition parties expressed their views. He said while two-third of the members wants the House to run, remaining one-third wants to stall the proceedings.

With no signs of normalcy returning to the House, the Speaker asked Legislative Affairs Minister T Harish Rao to move the motion for suspension of the members. Except MIM MLAs and a few members of other opposition parties, remaining legislators were suspended for remainder of the ongoing session.

Those suspended from the Assembly include N. Uttam Kumar Reddy, P. Ajay Kumar, DK Aruna, Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, G. Chinna Reddy, T. Jeevan Reddy, Vamshi Chandra Reddy, Komatireddy Venkat Reddy, Ramreddy Venkatreddy, Sampath Kumar, Bhaskar Rao and Padmavathi Reddy of Congress; Revanth Reddy, A. Gandhi, Prakash Goud, Maganti Gopinath, Rajender Reddy, G. Saianna and Vivekanand of TDP; G. Kishan Reddy, Dr. K. Lakshman, NVSS Prabhakar and Chintala Ramchandra Reddy of BJP; P Venkateshwarulu of YSRCP and Ravinder Kumar and Sunnam Rajaiah of Left Parties. Independent member Madhav Reddy was also suspended.

Leader of Opposition K. Jana Reddy, who was seated in the House, was not suspended and TDP floor Errabelli Dayakar Rao was not present in the House and therefore, he was not named in the list. (INN)