Thursday , August 24 2017
Home / News / Telangana / KTR vows help to journalists welfare

KTR vows help to journalists welfare

IT Minister K.T. Rama Rao has said the State government was committed to welfare of journalists and the facilities to be provided to them for their professional and recreational activities.

At an interaction with the Editors and Senior Journalists of various newspapers and channels at the Press Club Hyderabad here, KTR said the government was committed to the welfare of the journalists, irrespective of the regions they come from, and appreciated that the Press Club was a place for healthy interaction of journalists. The interaction was part of the Golden Jubilee celebrations of the Press Club.

On the request by Editors and senior journalists to give the present premises on long lease, KTR said he would take up the matter with Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhara Rao. He reminded that the Chief Minister had given land to several groups and institutions and there was no reason why Press Club would be denied of such help from the government. He requested the Committee to present a note with the facilities they need at the club and the infrastructure required for it to present it to the Chief Minister.

Advisor to the Government K V Ramana Chary, IAS (Retd) said 50 years was a great journey in any institution’s life and the celebrations should befit such journey. He wanted all the journalists, irrespective of their union affiliations, to come forward and celebrate it unitedly. He urged the senior journalists to share their experiences in the form of articles for the souvenir to be brought out on the occasion.

Commissioner of Information & Public Relations department Navin Mittal explained the support being extended by the Government. Allam Narayana, Chairman, Press Academy; P. Vijay Babu (RTI Commissioner), I Venkat Rao (Mahaa News); Kommineni Srinivasa Rao (NTV), K. Srinivas (Andhra Jyothi),. Shailesh Reddy (6TV), ChVM Krishna Rao (Deccan Chronicle), Ravi Reddy (The Hindu), Katta Shekar Reddy (Namaste Telangana), Arun Sagar (TV5), Rajnikanth and Murali Krishna (TV9), Kranti Kiran (Jai Telangana), A. Krishna Rao (New Indian Express), A. Srinivasa Rao (Metro India), Veeraiah (Nava Telangana), Narayan Reddy (T News), Sangappa (V6) and senior journalists S. Nagesh Kumar, Bhandaru Srinivasa Rao, Mallepalli Lakshmaiah, S. Vinay Kumar, YSR Sharma (Andhra Prabha) participated.

Press Club president R. Ravikanth Reddy; secretary Rajamouli Chary, vice-president Vanaja; Treasurer P.V. Srinivas and Committee members Maram Srinivas and Duggu Raghu were present. (NSS)