Tuesday , May 30 2017
Home / News / Hyderabad / KCR proposes common curriculum for residential schools

KCR proposes common curriculum for residential schools

Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao has announced that the State Government would establish 522 new residential schools across Telangana State taking the total to 1190 in the next few years.

Addressing a review meeting on the KG to PG free education scheme at the State Secretariat on Wednesday, the Chief Minister said presently there were 668 residential schools in the State. He directed the officials to take immediate steps to establish another 552 residential schools. He said each Assembly constituency should have at least 10 schools. He also asked the officials to ensure that all schools impart education till 12th class.

Further, KCR said presently the residential schools were being run by different departments. This system should be changed and all schools should be run by a single department with a common curriculum. He said steps should be taken to control the dropout rate among girls, especially those belonging to minority and Tribal communities.

KCR said of nearly 3,000 hostels across the Telangana State, there were just 21 hostels for minorities. He said one residential school and hostel should be established for minorities in all districts of Telangana.

The Chief Minister also advocated the need for a change in the quality and standard of technical education. He pointed out that hundreds of students have been working as Home Guards or adopted small professions despite holding an engineering degree. He said that the engineers and other degree holders should be made more employable. He said the concept that the society’s perception that education means only either Medicine or Engineering should be changed. He said a new policy should be drafted to focus on areas like research and development.

The review meeting was attended by Deputy Chief Minister Kadiyam Srihari, Telangana Public Service Commission Chairman Chakrapani and senior officials of Education, BC Welfare, Minorities Welfare and other relevant departments. (INN)