Tuesday , May 30 2017
Home / News / Telangana / KCR is murdering democracy: CLP

KCR is murdering democracy: CLP

The Telangana Congress Legislature Party on Saturday accused Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao of murdering democracy in the State.

Addressing a press conference along with Leader of Opposition in Council Mohammed Ali Shabbir, Ex-Union Minister Balram Naik and Ex-MP Ponnam Prabhakar, Leader of Opposition in Legislative Assembly K. Jana Reddy said that the TRS Government was functioning in a completely unethical and undemocratic manner. “The actions of TRS will be condemned by everyone who believes in democracy. They are luring or intimidating each and every elected representative to win elections or increase the tally. KCR simply wants to wipe out entire opposition through undemocratic means,” he said.

Jana Reddy said that threatening call made to Shabbir Ali was a clear example of how the TRS Government was intimidating the opposition leaders. Similarly, he said that the TRS leaders tried to disrupt the rally of Deputy CLP leader Dr. J. Geetha Reddy in Medak on Saturday. “Such acts of violence and intimidation shows that TRS leaders have no faith in democracy and Constitution,” he said.

Furnishing statistics, he said that the TRS has fielded its candidates for all 12 MLC seats under Local Authorities’ Constituencies without having required number of MPTCs, ZPTCs, Councillors & Corporators to win them. Citing an example, he said that the TRS had just 4 votes out of 1200 Local Body members in Khammam district while Congress has 136, TDP -295, BJP – 103, CPM -83, CPI – 55 and YSRCP – 121 members. “Without luring or intimidating opposition members, how could TRS win Khammam MLC seat with just four votes?” he asked.

Similarly, Congress has a clear majority in Mahabubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Nizamabad, Ranga Reddy and Warangal districts. In Mahabubnagar district Congress had 473 members compared to 371 TRS members and in Nalgonda district Congress is on top with 544 members followed by TDP (192) and TRS (138). Likewise, in Nizamabad district, Congress is ahead of TRS by 7 votes with 301 members and in Ranga Reddy district Congress had 280 members compared with TRS (169) and TDP (166). In Warangal district too Congress had 364 votes compared to 277 members of TRS.

Jana Reddy said that the Congress leaders have approached the President of India, Governor, Election Commission of India and other concerned authorities on the open violations by TRS. But they got no positive response. “Now we will directly to go public and expose the undemocratic and dictatorial rule of KCR,” he said. (NSS)