Thursday , July 27 2017
Home / News / India / ‘Intolerance on rise ever since NDA formed govt at Centre’

‘Intolerance on rise ever since NDA formed govt at Centre’

Opposition Congress today mounted a scathing attack on the NDA government for ‘rising intolerance in the country’.

A resolution adopted at the Congress executive committee meeting charged the BJP led NDA with ‘rising intolerance ever since the NDA formed the government at the Centre’.

PCC president A Namassivayam MLA who earlier chaired the meeting, released later copies of resolutions adopted at the meeting to media persons.

He said Congress noted with concern the ‘virtue of tolerance has totally been hit with communal clashes and mayhem in the name of religion occurring every other day posing threat to the people and creating an environ of insecurity across the country’.

He said the Prime Minister and the ruling AINRC here were to be blamed for the incidents as AINRC was in alliance with BJP .

On other resolutions adopted, he said rain affected farmers, hut dwellers and daily wage earners were let down by the government which had not initiated any steps to extend relief and assistance to them.

There was also a delay in seeking the visit of the Central team for assessing the damages, he alleged.

He said a resolution lauded the verdict given by voters in Bihar in the recent Assembly polls, registering overwhelming support to the grand alliance formed by the Congress, Janata Dal (United) and RJD to form the government.

He said Congress would lay a siege to the Assembly here during December end to bring to focus the ‘failure’ of the Rangasamy led government here on several counts’.

The PCC leader also announced appointment of constituency wise coordinators of the party to strengthen the organisation.

To a question he said that the party was bracing for the Assembly polls here due next year (2016) and appointment of the coordinators was part of the initiative.

Among those who addressed the executive committee meeting were AICC general secretary and former Union Minister V Narayanasamy, Leader of the opposition V Vaithilingam.