Friday , July 28 2017
Home / News / Telangana / HC rejects MLAs’ disqualification petition, reprieve for Talasani

HC rejects MLAs’ disqualification petition, reprieve for Talasani

In a major reprieve, the High Court today refused to admit a petition against eight legislators defecting to the ruling TRS. With this, Commercial Taxes Minister Talasani Srinivas Yadav, who was elected on Telugu Desam ticket from Sanatha Nagar constituency and others, who switched loyalties to the TRS, got a reprieve.

The petition pleaded for immediate disqualification of those who defected to the TRS. But the court declined to admit the petition against the defected legislators stating that it cannot intervene in the issue which was under the Speaker’s purview. “Since the defection case was being looked into by the Speaker, the court would not intervene”, the judges observed.

However, the court noted that the Speaker can take a speedy decision to protect democracy. TDLP leader Errabelli Dayakar Rao and Congress leader Sampath decried the defections. According to the information, the TDP was planning to move Supreme Court in this regard. It may be said that three TDP, four Congress and one YSRCP leader had joined the TRS for better political butter. (NSS)